Sharing is Caring - Tips for using the Share button on the Dualshock 4

Sharing is one of those things that we tend to dislike as children. It’s understandable honestly, because if you have something, why would you want to give it up? You earned it right, it’s yours, so why should you have to let someone else have it? There’s plenty of other factors that make sharing justifiable, but this isn’t a parenting website, and it never will be, so we’re going to move past the whole sharing thing as a childhood issue and get to the meat of this article.

The Dualshock four is the most redesigned controller that Sony has released since the first Dualshock all the way back on the original playstation. Besides the litany of other changes, the biggest change is a wee little button on the controller known only as, wait for it, the Share button. Full disclosure here, I made one of those faces when they announced the Share button. You know the one, where you cock your head slightly to the left, squint your eyes and purse your lips. I was of course, wrong, because the Share button is more than a simple method of presenting one’s accomplishments. It is the perfect way to instantly prove that everything you say is actually true.

I’ve never used the Share button before, what does it do?
I’m honestly not sure if anyone reading this has literally neglected the Share button on their controller since launch, but just in case your button is getting a little dusty, I’m going to give you the rundown on what it can do. First of all, the Share button offers the ability to instantly upload screenshots, gameplay, or streaming footage to several different sites. This means that if you got an amazing kill in Call of Duty: Ghosts, or totally destroyed one of the legendary ships in Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag, you can take that moment and forever emblazon it upon the wall of the internet where it can be seen by all! Or at least your friends.

When you do this, you can upload the screenshots and video to your Facebook, or your Twitter. If you want to stream some live gameplay since you’re apparently all that and a bag of potato chips, you can do that too, through Twitch.TV. If you have the PlayStation Eye Camera, you can also record yourself talking or even have a picture in picture of yourself during your live stream.

Tips Share button How does the Share button work?
The Share button has a variety of settings. I’m going to use the default commands here since most people probably won’t go in and change everything unless they feel like they need to. The Share button is conveniently located just to the left of the DualShock 4’s touch pad. When you’re setting up your PS4, you are asked to put in your Facebook information, which allows the system to post when you are playing or getting trophies. It also allows the PS4 to upload your screenshots and video directly without the need for you to login. Here are the basic commands with the Share button:

> Quick press
> Opens the Share menu, saves a screenshot, and creates a save file of the last up-to 15 minutes of gameplay.
> Long Press
> Snaps a Screenshot at that moment.
> Double Press
> Sets the start point for a new video clip. Quick Press to end your current clip.

As you can see, it’s all fairly simple. You can also use the quick press to open a menu where you can access what social sites you upload to, and other settings. When you press the button and open this menu, you also instantly save a screenshot and have access to the last fifteen minutes of gameplay. The PS4 is always keeping track of these last fifteen minutes so when you press the button, it’s ready.

In this menu, you can also select screenshots to upload and video to upload. The video is incredibly easy to use. You can view the last fifteen minutes and with a press of each trigger you can set a start and end point. You type a quick title, maybe a nice description, and then you upload it directly to your social site of choice. As of right now you can only upload to either Facebook or Twitter, but there’s always potential for more to come.

Beyond this, the PS4 can also stream your games to Twitch TV, allowing you to record live gameplay and with the PS4 Eye Camera, you can add commentary and record a version of yourself speaking. It is recommended that before you broadcast for the first time, you visit the broadcast settings and configure it to your liking. You can set volume levels, turn video from the PS4 camera on or off, and toggle the ability to see comments from viewers in real time on the right side of the screen.

A very helpful tip from IGN.com’s wiki page mentioned that when going online to stream, be sure to turn off your microphone in the settings so others online don’t hear your commentary from your stream. People are easily aggravated and this will avoid any verbal throw-downs.

What if I want to see what other people have shared?
Sharing is Caring PS4If you find yourself interesting in other strangers in the world of PlayStation, Sony has you covered. You can find an option on the main menu of your PS4 that allows you to view live streams. There is a section of the main menu called “Live From PlayStation” where you can view a marketplace full of people’s live streams. This allows you to tap into the gamers around the world and see what other people are doing, and what incredible feats they are performing. All with inarguable proof! Possibly the best thing about all of these Share button features is that Sony does not require a PlayStation Plus subscription to use any of it. With this being such a huge feature, the fact that it is accessible to all gamers regardless of subscription, is a huge bonus. As I’ve said before, PlayStation Plus is absolutely worth it, doubly so if you own a PS3 or a Vita, but even if you’re tight on cash, you can still broadcast, post, and record without any issues.

Have you used the Share button? What kind of gameplay or broadcasts have you uploaded? Tell us in the comments!

Article by - Bradley Ramsey
Insert Date: 02/03/2014

Related Articles:

Tags: 

Comments

be careful

Ive been emailed by facebook stating that i have uploaded copyright material and if i do not desist i could have my right to upload or account disabled. I was showing my friends on fb what the intro of TR looks like on the PS4 doh

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.